Configuring a forest root domain on Windows Server 2012


Post migrated to: http://kpytko.pl/active-directory-domain-services/configuring-a-forest-root-domain-on-windows-server-2012/

12 responses to “Configuring a forest root domain on Windows Server 2012”

  1. Tom Noehle says :

    Exactly what I was looking for! Thank you very much & greetings from germany 🙂

  2. Burkhardt & Larson Attorneys At Law says :

    I got this site from my friend who shared with me on the topic of this web page and
    at the moment this time I am browsing this web site and reading very informative articles
    or reviews at this time.

  3. Burkhardt & Larson Attorneys At Law says :

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you
    are a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back at some point.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

  4. Eusebia says :

    Howdy! This blog post could not be written any better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this
    information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  5. Patrick says :

    Thank you so much. You’re this first one that explains how to configure DNS on the first DC. I’ve spent hours looking for such a simple explanation. Thank you again. Do you have a post on how to configure a second DC. Should its DNS entry (prefered DNS server) in the IP configuration point to itself or should it pont to the first DC. Then should the Alternate DNS server entry be configured, with witch address? And finally, is there any modification that needs to be done on one or both DNS Server so they can replicate object in AD ?

    Thank you again,

    Patrick

    • iSiek says :

      Hello Patrick,

      I’m glad that my article helped you to solve the issue. Yes, of course I have an article about adding additional Domain Controller in the existing environemnt. Please take a look at this one: http://kpytko.pl/2012/09/07/adding-additional-domain-controller-windows-server-2012/

      I would strongly suggest to set up DNS IP address in this order:

      Primary DNS: another DNS in the same location
      Alternative DNS: IP address of that DNS itself
      3rd DNS: 127.0.0.1 (loopback interface)

      But before you will change DNS order, leave just only one DNS IP address poiting to remote DNS in the same location for one day to be sure that whole AD database and its configuration were replicated

      Regards,
      Krzysztof

      • Patrick Dufresne says :

        Hi Krzysztof, I just wanted to thank you for your quick reply to my post. It works fine now, thanks to you. Have a good day, Patrick Date: Wed, 12 Feb 2014 14:43:40 +0000 To: pdufresne@outlook.com

      • iSiek says :

        Hi Patrick,

        I’m gald to hear that! Thank you very much and have a good day too

        Regards,
        Krzysztof

Leave a Reply

